i love this city!

October 21, 2008 – For the most part I love this city. I suppose my only complaint might be weather related. (I’m not a fan of extended dampness.) But there are some days or collections of days where it strikes you how amazingly fortunate you are to live where you live. I love that within an hours drive we can go apple picking or skiing or hiking or to a fantastic beach. I love that we are a city without a downtown plagued by big super corporates or malls. I love that our best efforts are the ones that are grassroots and community oriented. And so on that note, a couple of things…

First off…I just want to say WOW about this past Saturday’s Nocturne Art at Night event. It was so amazing to see so many people out Saturday night: old and young, big groups, families, tours all walking the streets taking in the art and the night atmosphere. I had a chance to take in a few venues/pieces before heading back to the store after my dinner break. I found a new artist whose work I love. And saw an amazing conceptual projection piece. I loved sharing this experience with my 3 year old daughter and mother-in-law for whom this kind of thing is very new. My daughter is still making references to the evening. Thank you to the organizers of this event.

Second off…Happy 30th birthday to our friend and neighbour Woozles (the oldest children’s bookstore in Canada!). They hosted a fabulous birthday party on Sunday filled with puppets, music and of course, cake. My little one won a prize of two tickets to a production by Mermaid Theatre next summer (thanks to her grandmother’s ballot entry).

Thirdly…A big thank you to Trudi of Double Happiness (the gal who makes those gorgeous papered albums and books at Love, Me). She wrote about Love, Me in her take on the best of Halifax for Canadian design, craft and art blogger, Poppytalk. Check out the Halifax guide here. Didn’t she just nail it on the head with all the best places in Halifax?

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

