Where in the World??

I love to travel. My favorite travel memories and experiences always happen when I forget about agendas or let go of my map and get lost in an area that feels like me. If I am lucky I find a store like mine that offers handmade goods made in the region and more often than not I leave with a goody or two. But with two young ones and a baby biz, I haven’t traveled in awhile. Instead, I travel vicariously through friends’ photographs on Facebook.

The other day I received a package from not-so-far Ottawa from Urbanite Jewellery. When I opened the package, I was taken on an international journey. And the box of treasures was like a visual, wearable, jewellery souvenir shop from all the stops on this journey.

Urbanite Jewellery’s creator, Krista Leben, creates jewellery stylistically reminiscent of a place and then she packages them on cards labeled with their namesake. There are lacey, leafy “Manilla” earrings, branch and blossom “Victoria” earrings & necklace, and a spherical icey snowball “Banff” necklace. I am mad for the simple modern arty “Chicago” earrings (shown directly below) and the floral “Seville” earrings (bottom image), reminiscent of the amazing floral gardens and moorish “cutout” architectural decor.

Urbanite Jewellery, Chicago earrings

Urbanite Jewellery, Seville Earrings

All the Urbanite pieces are light in weight and pocket (read: affordable). If travel is in your heart but not in your agenda right now, a little piece of Bejing, Casablanca, or Aspen can be yours in the form of some pretty treasures. (What a great justification on buying yourself a treat! You just saved yourself a plane ticket and lodging money sweetheart!)

 

Leave a comment

Filed under jewellery, New in the Shop

Leave a Reply

